• Ville de Nîmes

    Ville de Nîmes | © ViaFrance

    Zoom

    Arena of Nîmes

    Violence and beauty in the Antique arenas.

    The Nîmes amphitheatre, built in the late 1st century BC, boasts the same oval shape as Rome's Coliseum. The 21m tall facade consists of two levels, with two rings of 60 arches stacked on top of one another, along with an attic.

    During the Antiquity, the edifice could accommodate 23 000 people along the terraces, a mob thirsting for sport, hunts, animal fights or gladiator combats. Today, the Arènes de Nîmes are traditionally venues for bullfights and ferias, but also numerous concerts by internationally-renowned musicians such as Björk who performed there in 2007.

    Additional informations

    Information hotline:0 891 701 401 (0,225€/mn)
    Nîmes train station is 30 minutes from Orange, and 15min from the Pont du Gard
    The rates quoted cover access to a tour of the arenas with audioguide

    Schedules and prices

    From Tuesday 1 November to Saturday 31 December 2016 :
        Every day, from 09:30 to 17:00
    From Friday 1 January to Sunday 28 February 2016 :
        Every day, from 09:30 to 17:00
    From Friday 1 April to Tuesday 31 May 2016 :
        Every day, from 09:00 to 18:30
    From Wednesday 1 to Thursday 30 June 2016 :
        Every day, from 09:00 to 19:00
    From Friday 1 July to Wednesday 31 August 2016 :
        Every day, from 09:00 to 20:00
    From Thursday 1 to Friday 30 September 2016 :
        Every day, from 09:00 to 18:30
    From Saturday 1 to Monday 31 October 2016 :
        Every day, from 09:00 to 18:00
    From Tuesday 1 to Thursday 31 March 2016 :
        Every day, from 09:00 to 18:00

    Admission prices :
        Full price : 8.5 €
        Reduced price : 6.5 €
        Children up to 6 years : Free

Related videos

 
 

Sponsored videos

 
 
 

Things to see

Calendar